Super Easy Hushpuppies

2013-09-12 11.00.31

A couple weeks ago I was missing New Orleans and decided to make some classic Louisiana hushpuppies! I have never made them before so I decided to just use a pre-made box before attempting to make my own from scratch. I used Tony Chachere’s Hush Puppy Mix, you can buy it at most grocery stores (at least in the south). It was super easy and fast and most importantly delicious!

Since I used a pre-made box I decided to at least make homemade remoulade sauce to go with the hushpuppies. For those of you not familiar with remoulade it is a classic southern sauce used for lots of different things but often paired with crab cakes, shrimp po-boys and sometimes used as a dip! It is a mayo-based sauce that is often mixed with mustard and spicy cajun seasoning to make it more interesting.

Basically combine about 1 1/4 cup mayonnaise with 1/4 creole mustard (any spicy/grainy mustard for those not in the south) then add in a couple teaspoons cajun seasoning, and finish it off with some hot sauce and paprika. Some people even add horseradish and pickle juice. I suggest playing around with ingredients you like best and making it as spicy as you prefer.

Enjoy!

Maybe one day I will even attempt home-made hushpuppies!

